Subsequently, the «Lausanne II Conference», whose work lasted three months, led to the signing of the «Treaty of Lausanne», an international peace agreement, on July 24, 1923 at the «Beau Rivage Plus» hotel in Lausanne, southern Switzerland, the victorious powers after the First World War (including Great Britain, France and Italy) and the Ottoman Empire, who chaired his delegation to the conference, Ismet Inonu, and on the basis of which the Ottoman Empire was formally divided, and the Turkish Republic was founded under the presidency of Mustafa Kemal Atatürk. In the absence of provisions to the contrary, where, as a result of the establishment of a new frontier, the hydraulic system (pipeline, flooding, irrigation, drainage or other similar matters) in one State depends on work carried out in the territory of another State or, in the territory of one State, by reason of pre-war use, hydroelectricity or hydroelectricity the source of which is in the territory of another State, an agreement shall be concluded between the States concerned in order to safeguard the interests and rights acquired by each of them.