Akaitcho Dene, from the South Slave region, included a contractual procedure for fetal authorization and not a full claim; However, because the Métis were not included in the original contract, they were not able to participate in the Akaitcho Dene trial. In 1996, the South Slave Métis Tribal Council (now a nation in the Northwest Territory of Métis) signed a framework agreement for the negotiation of land and resources. Over more than four decades of negotiations on indigenous claims in Canada, the system has responded to national and international changes in communications, the economy, value systems and policies. The implementation of the agreements on the agreed requirements laid the groundwork for improvements and revisions, as well as a series of confrontations. The 1975 JBNQA allocated $168.8 million for Cree and US$91 million for Inuit, as well as for the country, an environmental protection and social protection system, and an income security program for hunters and trappers. The Cree-Naskapi (Quebec) Act (1984) and the Northern Village Respect Act and the Kativik Regional Government (Quebec Government) (1978) created a form of autonomy for Cree and Inuit. Until 2014, there were 24 complementary agreements to amend the JBNQA. Many groups have negotiated self-management as part of the broader claims process. Of the 26 agreements signed, 18 contain provisions on autonomy.

However, negotiations on self-management can continue even if a Community signs a historic treaty and does not meet the criteria of a comprehensive right. As a result, self-management negotiations are taking place in the prairie provinces and in Ontario, alongside Canada`s vast territories that are not covered by historic treaties. Several NT First Nations and Métis groups negotiate settlements based on Aboriginal and contractual rights, rather than using the extensive claims process. The federal government negotiates with the Metis in NT other than in the rest of Canada. Many NT communities have mixed the First Nations and Métis population. That is why their interests are negotiated collectively. Negotiations with the Dene and Métis began in 1981. Prior to 1990, negotiations for a new treaty in this area were encouraged by cooperation between different dene groups and the Métis in the region. Negotiators for the Dene and Métis reached an agreement in principle, but after 1990, this common front collapsed because of a disagreement on the principle that modern treaties were acceptable with a language that was more likely to extinguish indigenous rights than to confirm them.

The general assembly of Dene and Métis broke into several groups, each pursuing its own settlement with the government. The Gwich`in claim was settled in 1992, followed in 1994 by the country of Sahtu Dene and Métis Comprehensive Land claim; And the fetal requirement sanitized the Igero agreement with the four Igero 11 municipalities in the North Slave region was concluded in 2003. Numbered contracts (or post-confederation) are a series of eleven contracts signed between First Nations, one of three groups of Aboriginal peoples in Canada and the Acting Monarch of Canada (Victoria, Edward VII or George V) from 1871 to 1921. [1] These agreements were concluded to allow the Canadian government to operate colonies and resources in affected areas, including Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Ontario, Saskatchewan and the Northwest Territories. These treaties expanded the Dominion of Canada to large areas in exchange for promises made to the Aboriginal peoples of the region. These conditions were subject to individual negotiations, so the specific terms of each contract were different. The 1975 James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement (JBNQA) was widely negotiated and implemented in response to the threat of hydroelectric development.